It was a full house at the London Road Pavilion on Friday as Louth Athletic Club celebrated the year’s achievements in road running, track and field and cross-country at their annual awards ceremony.
No less than 17 club track and field records were broken in 2015 and some had stood for many years.
Under-13 athlete Caleb Stephenson set the standard in five events including long jump (4.80m), 200m indoor (30.66), 600m indoor (1.55:42), 800m indoor (2.43:6) and indoor long jump (4.16m).
Under-13 runner Hannah Reid took the 1,200m record in 4.30:2 and indoor 1,000m in 3.39:7 and Freddie Taylor took the boys’ 1,200m record in 4.33.6.
Jevon George-Jones broke the under-15 boys’ 3,000m record in 10.14:8 and George Johnstone the under-17 boys’ shot with a throw of 12.16m.
Heptathlete Natalie Stainton set new under-20 women’s records in 100m hurdles (18.5), 400m hurdles (82.3) and pole vault (1.60m)
Karen Moulding set a new record in the veteran lady 4kg hammer throw (13.88m) whilst fellow veteran athlete Kerry Stainton broke the 600m record (2.06:6). For the veteran men, Jason Stainton broke his own records set last year in the 800m (2.17.7) and 400m (60.3).
Seven junior athletes also received highly-prized awards for reaching nationally recognised Amateur Athletic Association standards in their disciplines.
Grade 1 is the highest level an athlete can achieve and indicates that their performance is in the top 7.5 per cent in the country, grade 2 is in the top 15 per cent, grade 3 in the top 30 per cent and grade 4 in the top 65 per cent.
Caleb Stephenson reached grade 1 in long jump (4.80m), grade 2 in 800m (2.22:6) and grade 3 in the 100m (13.9) and 200m (28.5).
Grade 3 awards were achieved by George Johnstone in the shot (12.16m), Toby Alexander in the high jump (1.35m) and Evie Odlin in the 800m (2.35.2).
And grade 4 awards were won by Ellie Odlin in the high jump (1.25m), Hannah Reid in the 800m (2.36.8), Evie Odlin in the 100m (14.4) and Lucas George-Jones in the 1,500m (5.10:4).
These are incredible achievements by the youngsters and everyone at the club is immensely proud of them.
2015 Louth Athletic Club Award Winners Whitegate Trophy for the best junior or senior men’s performance in cross-country: Jason Stainton Striacroft Trophy for best male or female performance in a road race: Lindsey Phillips and Jason Stainton Veteran’s Tankard for the best performance by a veteran athlete in any discipline: Kevin Wallis Best cross country performance by an over-17 lady: Kerry Stainton Eileen Ballard Cup for the most improved junior, senior or veteran athlete in any discipline: Shirley Willett and Tanya Gardener May Lingard Shield for the best cross-country performance by an under-17 girl: Hannah Reid Louth AC Trophy for the best cross-country performance by an under-17 boy: Jevon George-Jones Trophy Centre Shield for the best track performance by an under-17 boy: Caleb Stephenson Louth AC Trophy for the best track performance by an under-17 girl: Evie Odlin Louth AC Trophy for the best track performance by an under-20 or senior man: Jason Stainton Louth AC Trophy for the best track performance by an under-20 or senior lady: Natalie Stainton Wyn Stocks Trophy for the best field performance by a junior girl: Evie and Ellie Odlin Louth AC Trophy for the best field performance by a junior boy: Caleb Stephenson Louth AC Shield for the best field performance by an under-20, senior or veteran athlete (male or female): Natalie Stainton Long Distance Cup: Lisa Harkess 10k Award: Joe Wood and Karen Moulding Most improved under-11 athlete of the year: Freddie Rhodes Louth AC Trophy for the most improved under-13 or under-15 girl: Freya Plaskitt Louth AC Trophy for the most improved under-13 or under-15 boy: Caleb Stephenson Most improved under-17 athlete of the year: Robert Johnstone Sylvester Trophy for senior newcomer: Paul Snowden Louth AC newcomer award: Evie Odlin Brian Troop Memorial Trophy for under-20 athlete demonstrating best clubmanship: George Johnstone Coaches’ middle-distance trophy: Caleb Stephenson Coaches’ sprint trophy: George and Robert Johnstone Endeavour trophy for a female athlete: Ellie Odlin Endeavour trophy for a male athlete: Toby Alexander Pete Geeson Cup: John Hudson Chairperson’s Shield: Ros Jackson Duck : Jason Stainton Tumbler Award for the best fall: Pete Crow
Trophies were also presented from the club’s cross country championship held at London Road last month. Results were: U11 girls: winner Hettie Mossop, runner-up Bethany Ardern, U11 boys: winner Declan Templeton, runner-up Freddie Rhodes, U13 girls: winner Hannah Reid, runner-up Ellie Odlin, U13 boys: winner Lucas George-Jones, runner-up Kieron Byrne, U15 girls: winner Bea Spendlove, runner-up Honor Knight, U15 boys: winner Jevon George-Jones, runner-up Joshua Tarrant, U17 boys: winner James Larder, U20 women: winner May Ashton-Jones, runner-up Natalie Stainton, senior women: winner Emma Smith, runner-up Tanya Gardener, veteran women: winner Kerry Stainton, runner-up Debbie Simpson, U20 men: winner Declan Godfrey, senior men: winner Joe Wood, runner-up Adam Dalton, veteran men: winner Jason Stainton, runner-up Kevin Wallis.

The 2015 Mayor’s Trophy, awarded to junior and senior winners and runners up in a handicap race held at the end of the summer’s Wolds Dash series, went to: junior female winner: Ellie Odlin and runner-up Freya Plaskitt, junior male winner: Joshua Tarrant and runner up Raphael Corn, senior female winner: Ros Jackson and runner up Emma Smith, senior male winner Jason Oxby and runner up Jason Stainton.

Group photos of the junior and senior award winners by Graham Stephenson available to download at: